Matt & Joes is the Place to Be on Facebook!

This weekly discussion will focus around businesses using Facebook.  I was going to write about the Mustang Drive In because I do feel that this company uses their page effectively considering the nature of their business, but I didn’t think there was enough content to talk about.  Next I checked out the other businesses I have on my own personal Facebook  likes list.  After briefly browsing through a few I chose to write about Matt & Joes Night Club.  Matt & Joes Facebook page is jam-packed with content relevant to their business.  This includes numerous links, photos, and events.  I found that Matt & Joes engages with their friends and viewers, and they post frequently as well.  Their pictures are posted in a timely fashion and their page is easy to navigate and understand.  Overall Matt & Joes uses their Facebook page very effectively for their business and they definetly understand the concept of social networking, advertising, and  social media.

As I said before, Matt & Joe’s Facebook page is jam-packed with content, all related to their business.  When the page comes up, the first thing that draws my attention is the giant ad promoting their latest upcoming event.  The picture is huge.  This makes it impossible to miss.  The ad is always catchy, with colors, pictures and fonts that quickly catch the viewers eye.  The ad also includes all the information I would need to attend the event if it appealed to me.  A general glance at the overall page content immediately shows viewers exactly what Matt & Joes is, and what they have to offer.

Content consists of photo albums and videos, as well as pictures of weekly events, contests, customers enjoying their establishment, general business information and upcoming events.  It is all easily accessed from their homepage.  As well, there are clickable icons which will direct viewers to their photo album, videos, events, and likes pages.  This is important because, as a viewer who used to browse their site quite frequently, I know first hand that those are probably the more popular things people look for most if they are looking at the site.  They also have links to their TwitterYou Tube and to the official Matt & Joes websites.   The page also contains all the vital information, company name, address and phone number.  There is even a tab to a map, which I thought would be very helpful.  The address is important so potential customers know where to find the establishment, as well as their phone number so they may be contacted easily.  Overall it is my opinion that Matt & Joe’s have all the required content that a user would want or need to see concerning their business, and more!

Matt & Joe’s have a nice layout to their about page.  I think an about page is very important because it gives a business the chance to tell the public about themself.  For me it shows how organized the company is, and how much they want me as a customer.  Their about page has a map,  along with any and all necessary contact info, as well as the general description of the company and what they have to offer to the public.  Their page also includes transportation information, for instance, whether there is parking,  and if they are accessible by public transit.  One thing I found nice was that they gave a detailed description telling “out-of-towners”  exactly how to get to the bar.  I thought that was great because it shows that they are aware that their address alone may be confusing, and they take that little extra time to explain how they can be found.  A lot of businesses just post an address with no concern as to whether anyone can actually find the place.  Matt & Joes about page shows me they want me to come to their night club because they have shown me every possible option I have to arrive at their nightclub, as well as every option possible to contact them if and when necessary.  Sold me!

The owner of the bar, Joe Lentini, actually interacts with the viewers of his site.  I didn’t find anything that invites people to engage in a specific topic of conversation, but I did notice that if a person made a comment, Joe himself was the one to reply to the questions or comments posted.  I think this is great because it shows both new and old viewers that the owners of the establishment actually watch their Facebook site and don’t just delegate someone to do it for them.  I think this direct interaction is important for building a stronger and bigger social network,  and to build stronger customer relationships.  It makes the commenter feel good to know that not only was their comment viewed, but it was viewed by the owner who took the time himself to respond, showing he cares what his customers and viewers think.

In the future, I would like to see Matt & Joes engage more with the public.  Perhaps an online music contest where they post a daily question about music, everyone who answers correctly gets their name entered in a draw for tickets for their next big event.  They could have the contests run between events, then draw names from all the daily winners, for 5 tickets to that event, for example.  Another idea would be to have a scavenger hunt that would involve a series of questions, but the answers to those questions could be found on any of their 4 web pages.  Or maybe a contest to create a unique drink and name it, of course offer some small prize.  If  say one person, who had never been to Matt & Joes before,  saw one of their contests through a search engine such as Google and started entering, then said person wins a ticket.  We all know how the chain goes, that person brings their friends to “check out” the place, they like it and they tell more friends.  Now that one new customer has turned into 10 and suddenly the Matt & Joes community is even larger.  Contests and prizes draw peoples attention, curiosity and would definetly have them engaging more with their customers, therefore building an even stronger company/customer relationship.

Overall I actually love Matt & Joes Facebook page!  Even now that I am too busy (or some of you may say too old – to which I reply, you’re only as old as you look/feel/act) to frequent Matt & Joes as much as I used to, I still like to check out their page.  I enjoy looking at the pictures and seeing if I know anyone.  I like to see what people are wearing these days, and maybe see what not to wear! (ha ha) I enjoy seeing what events they have coming up and then checking out the pictures after the event, its like a little story that tells itself, and I don’t have to wait long since they post their pictures within 12 hours of closing time!  Now, when I look at it from a business aspect, I can see that there is so much more to their website than hilarious drunken photos!  Matt & Joes Facebook page is informative, very easy to understand , interesting to browse and navigate through, as well as being an excellent way to relate to and build relationships with their customers and the public.  I would like to see them engage with public a bit more, but I would estimate that more than 95% of the people who go to Matt & Joes Night Club are Facebook users, therefore, I believe that Facebook is an outstanding social media tool for this business, and it is very beneficial to both the customers and the company.

About SarahHilts

Sarah H.A. Hilts Media Arts and Design - Loyalist College Business Sales & Marketing - Loyalist College Business (General) - Loyalist College Belleville Idol Winner - 2010 Mother of 3 Singer, creative design, love soccer, reading and writing and especially learning. I also love shoes, purses, and anything fun!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

