Brand… Me!!

This weeks topic is personal branding!! Brand… Me!!  This Social Media class at Loyalist has taught me so much.  Before I began I didn’t even know what social media was, so imagine my surprise to find out I have a digital footprint.  A long time ago someone asked me if I had ever Googled myself.  Umm no.  That gave me the urge to see what Google had to say about Sarah Hilts.  I came up on the front page, pictures of me and other Sarah Hilts’.  As well there were links to my Facebook account, my You Tube account, and I found it funny that the first item that showed up was my Bebo account.  I had forgotten I even had that account, nor do I remember the password.  Funny.  At the time I didn’t realize how significant it is that my image immediately shows up, after our last class I realize not only is it important, it’s actually awesome!!  I think there are many ways to improve my digital footprint, and I have already done so in a number of ways since starting my Social Media Class.

My first step to improving my digital imprint is halfway finished.  I started to delete old, “unattractive” photos from my Facebook page.  When I went into my albums to begin completing this task I found out that I have like 108 albums or some crazy amount like that.  Although my Facebook is on ultimate lock down, I was still on a mission to clean it up.  Once this step is complete I will of course check all of my old posts as well to see what else can be cleaned up.  Once my Facebook account is clear and ready for the business world I will remove all blocks so people may help themselves to Me!

My next plan for improving my digital foot print is to create a Myspace account.  This will improve my digital foot print because I plan to access the account quite frequently.  My account will mainly be created so I can post videos of myself singing but I will also use it as a form of blog to keep any followers I may have informed and up to date.  The account will add one more way that will show up on when I am Googled.  This will be a benefit as the account will include only positive and appropriate content.

The third way I can think to improve my digital foot print is to frequent my current accounts more but be very selective about which accounts I chose to frequent the most, as those are the ones that should pop up the highest on the list (except that mystery Bebo account).  I will chose sites like LinkedIn or Tumblr, or StumbleUpon.  I also think it’s essential to go into all of my old accounts and change my current user name(s) so that they include my first and last names specifically.  I think this will help because those accounts don’t seem to show up, for example my WordPress account.  Frequenting positive sites and changing my name is the final step I can think to take so that I can leave a deeper imprint in the digital world.

As I said before, I hadn’t realized how big of an imprint I have already made on the digital world.  Googling myself shows me that I have done a good job so far because I am at the top of the list.  Impressive if you ask me.  By cleaning up my Facebook, joining and frequenting more sites, like myspace and making some basic name changes on sites where I already have accounts, I believe I can make the imprint I have already left that much bigger and better!

 

About SarahHilts

Sarah H.A. Hilts Media Arts and Design - Loyalist College Business Sales & Marketing - Loyalist College Business (General) - Loyalist College Belleville Idol Winner - 2010 Mother of 3 Singer, creative design, love soccer, reading and writing and especially learning. I also love shoes, purses, and anything fun!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

